Logan Reinvented

April 24, 2012

My plan was to use this blog for reviewing books I’ve enjoyed. But. I’m not particularly good at it. In fact, I’m crap at reviewing books. A fellow novelist I reviewed sent me a bullet in the post. What’s a bloke to do? So … No more reviews. I’ll blog instead about me. ME! And my writing. And writing in general. And reading. And anything else that takes my interest.

Half Sick of Shadows will be released on May 10th. Two weeks and a bit to go. I’ve received copies of the finished product and it’s seXXayyy.

The paper book vs e-book debate has stepped up a gear in the past year. Since winning the Sir Terry prize – jointly with Michael – a year ago, I’ve worked with my publicist, Elizabeth, and my editor, Simon. I’ve worked with other editors from Transworld too as we’ve knocked Half Sick into shape. The year has been one of learning and anticipation. If Half Sick had been published only as an e-book – instead of the seXXayyy hardback that’s on my desk – and if it had been e published as good as instantly, I’m sure I would have got a lot less from the experience of becoming a published author (and the finished product would be a lesser animal). So, there’s the paper vs electronic publication debate from a writer’s perspective, but the same debate from a reader’s perspective brings in a range of different arguments, which I shall doubtless drone on about in future blog entries.

3 Responses to “Logan Reinvented”


  1. The book’s looking great David. Wishing you every success for May 10th.

    With regard to e-book vs real book, and having now had experience of both, I can see the need for both formats. I love books and holding an e-reader isn’t he same… however, as I get older I need to be able to enlarge the print, which the e-reader does instantly. When I go on holiday I no longer have to take an extra suitcase, just for books! I could not envisage a world without being able to pick a book from a bookshelf. The e-reader doesn’t feel like a book should, and it would look very lonely in the middle of an empty bookcase. I’m just glad we’re still able to have both formats.

    Anyway… it’s a great feeling to hold your own book so enjoy the moment, and may there be many more to follow.

    Catherine Cooper

    • david logan Says:

      Cheers Catherine. Good points about e reading. I need binoculars for the version of Bukowski I’m reading now. My iPad’s a bit chunky, and since me and Angie go on holiday as often as we can I may invest in the new Kindle. Perhaps. Maybe. If those nice Random House people send me another cheque.


      • You could plead it was for research purposes. Sometimes the conversion to Kindle throws up formatting problems… if you had one, you’d be able to spot any glitches and report them, it’s not too much of a problem getting things changed on an ebook.


Leave a comment